Omnivore > Pescatarian > Vegan

Introduce yourself to the vegan bootcamp community here and tell us a little about yourself and your journey!
wizardling
Stars: 950
Course: Meat
Courses Completed: 6/33

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the vegan journey and am feeling more motivated than ever to fully transition to a vegan diet. It started for me in 2020 when my partner and I decided to stop eating beef for environmental reasons. Then, the more we observed cows and talked about animal experience, refusing beef became less of a climate decision and more of an ethical one—clearly, these animals are just as sentient and individual as my beloved cat, and I wouldn't eat HER, so why eat them?

From there I transitioned into not eating mammals, but was fine with poultry, fish, and dairy if I believed they came from a reputable source (or, you know, if I was just at a restaurant). I figured this would be a happy enough place for me, and it's definitely not a difficult diet to follow. That changed again after reading Jonathan Safran Foer's book "Eating Animals" a few weeks ago, and after I did my own research into the dairy industry. Learning that almost all poultry species are genetic mutants incapable of living without suffering really rocked me. Even if it were possible for farmers to let chickens live their lives and express their innate chicken-ness, these poor creatures can't walk, can't mate, can't fly, can't even exist without constant pain. And when I realized the dairy industry basically IS the meat industry but worse, and that it was true that dairy cattle must be perpetually impregnated, I again couldn't imagine a form of dairy that allowed the cows to live without suffering. I thought this was all "PETA propaganda" until I finally found reputable journalistic and scientific sources. I'm ashamed at having been so afraid of looking at my complicity until now.